Uncategorized

2 year anniversary!

Hi guys! Okay so today’s post is a little different to any I have done before but I really felt like doing it anyway. Basically, on the 29th April it was mine and my boyfriend’s 2 year anniversary. We celebrate our anniversary on the day we got together, (I know some people celebrate on the date of their first date, their first kiss, or even the day they became “Facebook official”).

So anyway, I’m always saying to my boyfriend that he should decide what to do for a day out and where to go for dinner etc… But my boyfriend is perfectly fine with most things and places and leaves all the decisions down to me, but for our anniversary this year he had actually decided what we would do to celebrate and he chose to go to Kaspas! Neither of us had been there before, and we both really wanted to go, and that is what we did, (bit more on that experience later).

Unfortunately for us, our anniversary fell on a day when my boyfriend had work, and he actually had work that whole weekend, so we couldn’t really celebrate our anniversary until bank holiday Monday, (May 2nd) however; I think the both of us became pretty impatient waiting to celebrate our anniversary and kind of began celebrating it throughout the week by going out for dinner and stuff, and so our anniversary was actually long and really special.

On the Tuesday before our anniversary, we had a last minute plan to go to the Hanbury Arms Pub for dinner in Caerleon. It is such a beautiful pub that overlooks the River Usk. It’s really clean and nice and the staff are lovely and make you feel very welcomed.

image

image

image

It would have been sooo much better if the weather was nice because we would have loved to have sat outside and ate our dinner on the benches, because look at that view! Yes, the photo below was taken at another date and featured in one of my photography blogs.

image

On to our meal… We both had the same which was a chargrilled chicken burger with chips, salad and coleslaw. Our meals were from the lunch time menu and were in a 2 for £12 deal. Which is a really good price and the food was absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection! We didn’t have to wait long for our food either, although we were the only 2 people in the restaurant. For dessert we had a brownie ice cream sharer which had scoops of vanilla and chocolate ice cream topped with whipped cream and a flake which was sooooo delicious!

image

image

After our lovely meal we left and my boyfriend and I then went for a lovely walk along the sea wall at Goldcliff.

image

image

image

image

image

And then on the Thursday we popped into town to buy some sunglasses and got a Costa. I love Costa but neither of us liked the drink we purchased, we both got the Caramel Latte Iced Cooler and we actually threw both in the bin so that was disappointing. I also had this pic n mix brownie which was actually really nice. We did have a laugh though because we were people watching through the window and frequently taking sips and laughing at how disgusting our coolers were lol.

image

image

And now onto the day of our anniversary, nothing too exciting happened, like I said my boyfriend had work in the evening. We decided (well actually, my boyfriend decided, he’s gotten so much better with making plans ha-ha) to go out for dinner to our local carvery so we had a lovely cooked dinner together before he headed off to work, so that was still nice.

And finally, the day we celebrated our anniversary. We went to Cardiff for the day and I went on a little shopping spree, I bought just a few bits and bobs from Lush and Primark, I mean c’mon how could I resist? (a blog post about my Lush bath bombs coming soon).

image

We took a little pit stop at BBS cafe and it is the most qwerky and unique cafe I’ve ever been to.
image

image

I had an original iced tea, which at first was the best iced tea I had ever tasted but after about 5 sips the flavour was completely lost and basically just tasted like water! And yes, I stirred it a lot, so that was a little disappointing. My boyfriend had this caramel, frappe which was a bit sickly but so good!

image

And finally, we did what we actually planned to do for our anniversary, and that was a date at Kaspas!

image


We finally tried Kaspas Desserts! Unfortunately, it was a huge disappointment. The queue to get in was actually out on the street because it was so long. We waited a total of 30 minutes to be seated, only then to be approached and told we could be seated at the very first table, next to the front door, literally surrounded by hungry and irritable customers queuing. We took one look and realised for our first experience at Kaspas we didn’t want to be sat where we would feel claustrophobic, cold from the open door, and have people banging into the backs of our chairs every two minutes. We had already waited long enough as it was, so 15 more minutes for much better seating wasn’t the end of the world.

Finally, we were seated at our table. We then both ordered, I ordered the Nutella covered waffle with sliced strawberries and vanilla ice cream and my boyfriend ordered the chocolate, brownie covered waffle with vanilla ice cream. We then waited 40 minutes for our waffles to come out, after already waiting 45 minutes to be seated. Eventually, we got our waffles!

image

image

image

My waffle was delicious but soooo sickly. I basically had enough after two segments. My waffle was £5.95 and my boyfriend’s was £6.95. We both agreed that the waffles were over hyped and they wasn’t really anything special. I think we were both irritated that we waited 1 and a half hours just to have waffles. I don’t think we will be rushing back anytime soon but we still had a lovely day and are just glad that we finally tried Kaspas.

All in all, we had a lovely anniversary and I can’t wait to celebrate many more. My boyfriend isn’t just my boyfriend but my best friend too, and I couldn’t ask for anyone better! His name is Charlie by the way.

I hope you enjoyed this post, I’m aware it was a bit of a lengthy one but I just couldn’t wait to do it, plus, its always lovely to look back on. If you made it this far, thank you for reading.

R-T x

2 thoughts on “2 year anniversary!

Leave a comment